Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
11

Six (Brief) Things…

… from the last few days
11

Thing 1 – Swifts

They’ve been here for a few days, but have only just started treating us to the kind of thing in the video above. As I believe the saying has it: squee.


Thing 2 – Hovis

Visiting Shaftesbury for a book thing (see below) I naturally stopped in at Gold Hill, venue for that Hovis advert from the 1970s – not least because the excellent Folde Dorset, who hosted the event, have their shop on that very hill.

It prompted a false memory: that the voiceover for the advert had a Yorkshire accent. It didn’t.

But, as someone quickly pointed out, this one did.


Thing 3 – Books ‘n flaars

As mentioned above, I did a book thing for the excellent Folde. It was all great fun and nobody asked me any impossible questions (always a worry). And they do a lovely line in flowers.


Thing 4 – Book wall

As I was in the sort-of area, I went to say hello to the good folk of Little Toller in Beaminster. Publishers of nature books new and old, and – more recently – a bookshop, the wall of their own publications is temptation itself.


Thing 5 – Bliss

On our travels we passed, had we but known it, just a few miles from the former home of composer Sir Arthur Bliss. I posted a while back about Dave Brubeck’s home, and this seems to me very much in the same vein. So if someone could kindly lend me three million quid…


Thing 6 – Allium

Home, to glorious floral perfection (allium, pictured), and glorious musical imperfection (Eurovision, not pictured).


Share

Leave a comment

11 Comments
Six Things
Six Things
Authors
Lev Parikian