Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
22

Six (Brief) Things…

…from the weekend
22

Thing 1 – Book

The tradition of writers posting ‘unboxing’ videos is a fine and honourable one. But I didn’t think people would want to see me struggling to open a box of books with a pair of scissors while talking gibberish to camera, so I went with the video at the top of this missive instead. It was fun to make.

You can, as previously and continuously advertised on this space, pre-order Taking Flight ahead of its publication on May 4th.


Thing 2 – Lily of the valley

From the beginning of March I monitor a small corner of the garden for one particular plant. The appearance of these tight and tiny buds is always a welcome marker of particular moment in the year. When their blooms – pert jingles on slender stems – have fully emerged, they will have an individual scent, deep and sweet but not sickly. The kind of thing chemists labour years to recreate. A pint of milk will last longer, so I make sure I relish every day of their short season.


Thing 3 – Cheese

There are few things more satisfying than a slab of good cheese on waxed white paper. So here you are. I don’t want to get all cheese wanker about it (nutty aroma, sprightly mouth feel, hint of barberry on the aftertaste) so I’ll just say it was very very good. It’s Lincolnshire Poacher, if you’re interested.


Thing 4 – Colin From Accounts

On the basis of good reports from trustworthy people, we watched the first four episodes of this last night. I recommend you do the same, if you can.

It’s on the BBC iPlayer.


Thing 5 – Britten

I spent about ten years as a freelance percussionist before renouncing the back of the orchestra for the front, and very occasionally I revert to my former ways. Yesterday The Rehearsal Orchestra (which I usually conduct) needed an extra percussionist. Oh go on then.

The piece was Britten’s Young Person’s Guide to the Orchestra.

Nobody died.


Thing 6 – Swifts, nearly

The days of late April invariably have me monitoring reports of returning swifts. ‘Ours’ (they nest in the eaves of several houses on our street) don’t usually arrive until the first week of May, but it’s good, sometimes, to live vicariously, and the gradual increase in reports – each sighting evidence of a lengthy and hazardous journey successfully negotiated – warms the heart.


Share

Leave a comment

22 Comments
Six Things
Six Things
Authors
Lev Parikian